Types of governance for the use of RPA and Low-Code

Types of governance for the use of RPA and Low-Code

There are three types of governance models, and each involves a range of practices, benefits, and drawbacks:

1.- Centralised governance models involve the shift of control to the enterprise or to a specific department and can be used to:

- Centralise decision making, delivery and controls. 
- Increase the degree of control.
- Prioritise standard policy and change management needs to meet security, compliance and other corporate issues. 
- Establish a centre of excellence (COE). 
- Provide a community of practice (COP).

2.- Hybrid governance models, which provide for a partnership between business and IT:

- It provides a balance between the need for centralised control and the need for distributed and democratised delivery. 
- Centralise decision-making and security controls.
- Democratise the actual delivery and support of applications.
- Establish a centre of excellence (COE) with combined teams to ensure alignment of business objectives, value tracking and portfolio management. 
- Provide a community of practice (COP).

3.- Federated governance models, these types of models are business-led and supported by IT:

- Create working groups made up of software engineers and business technologists.
- Assumes strict compliance with standards and security measures.
- Provides the greatest independence to the business. 
- Provides flexibility to developers, who decide on the tools and methods to be used to deliver their initiatives.
- Optionally establish a centre of excellence (COE). 
Bring a community of practice (COP) to combined teams. 

Some of the information has been partially sourced from the publication What Governance Model Should I Use for RPA and Low-Code Citizen Development Initiatives? written by Saikat Ray.

Related Articles

Follow Us on...
CEITA LinkedIn
London, Barcelona, Madrid, Jaipur
© 2023 CEITA SL. All rights reserved